Main Image - $100,000 National Music Competition – Shortlist Announced!

$100,000 National Music Competition – Shortlist Announced!

Following a hugely successful campaign, organisers today announce the shortlist of artists who will move through to the next stage UniSounds’18, the $100,000 National Campus Music Competition.

Over the past six months the Unisounds project has been exploring University and TAFE campuses across Australia, seeking the next generation of music superstars. An expert industry panel will now select four deserving acts to join the two publicly voted wildcard acts, Ashley Iona (University of Sydney) and Danny Donehue (La Trobe University), in a national final event on Wednesday September 19, 2018. The event comprises of one-on-one industry mentoring sessions followed by a live, public performance.

The shortlist of artists represents campuses and states from Perth to Hobart and everywhere in between and includes a huge range of exciting genres not limited to hip-hop, electronic, folk, indie rock, and don’t forget the ‘ultra-love rock’.

Artist submissions comprise of original music and the competition is tough with the winner walking away with an international recording contract with the legendary Dine Alone Records (City and Colour, Alexisonfire, Violent Soho).

Last year’s winners, Jones The Cat from the University of Newcastle have made the most of every opportunity the competition has brought them. They are in the process of putting the finishing touches on their debut Dine Alone EP and will have the honour of announcing the full line-up for the Final in a live stream from their Sydney residency next Wednesday August 22.

Many of the 2017 finalists have similarly benefited from the Unisounds experience with Jamarz On Marz recently performed live at the Commonwealth Games as well as in the Solange band at the Sydney Opera House, Sophie Akedsecured UK representation and dave. are preparing to record their debut album with Steve Albini in the US.  

The experienced judging panel will assess the 2018 shortlist artists based on composition, performance, market-readiness, commercial potential and overarching proposition. The panel include some of the most experienced senior executives from industry giants Dine Alone Records, Sony Music, Kobalt Publishing, Top Dog Group, Hub Artist Services, Sounds Australia, Tertiary Access Group, 123 Agency as well as a number of recording artists, DJs and industry professionals.

See the full list of artists below and listen to their tracks at Congratulations to the entrants, and particularly to the 2018 shortlisted artists below (in alphabetical order):

Art School Bullies (University of Tasmania)

Blackcurrant (La Trobe University)

Cappo (Canberra Institute of Technology)

Colour Machine (University of South Australia)

Dyer Maker (University of Newcastle)

Evanda (Curtin University)

Honchos (Curtin University)

HyperTron CollideScope (Victoria University)

IRUSU (Macquarie University)

L.E.E (Flinders University)

Liv Heyer (Griffith University)

Meg (University of Newcastle)

MICCY (Griffith University)

Milkpunch (University of Sydney)

Mr Sauce (University of Newcastle)

Natalia (Murdoch University)

Nelipot (University of Newcastle)

Nyssa & Alex (University of Sydney)

OOC (University of Tasmania)

Scarlet Kill (Griffith University)

Something to Rescue (University of Adelaide)

Taleena (Griffith University)

The Pits (University of Newcastle)


For enquiries, promotional assets and further info, contact [email protected]

 For regular updates follow Unisounds on Facebook, Instagram